THE INTERVIEW PART 1 (D@MN A SETH ROGAN)

WORKFORCEFLYER2by : Hip Hop execs, when asked how do you know when an unsigned artists is hot, and they would say “typically when the music finds you. No digging. No searching. It just finds you. Again and again. That’s when I know.”

This is how I came to hear of Michael Archie, the writer, artists, and executive producer behind the Workforce comic book. I just kept seeing the name pop up. I first heard about him through NappyQueen.com. I avoided it and the name came back again. I believe in signs so I had to take note. Michale Archie has built a growing fan base, grabbed the attention of an audience solely through wordpress, and got his followers to do what most Magazine publishers cannot do — get readers to pay for the content. Not too mention he self publishes.

Now if that’s not some Kujichagulia for you then I don’t know what is.

Below is my interview with Michael Archie. The man I consider to be the next big thing.

Purchase Workforce herehttps://perfectman.wordpress.com/work-force-vol-1/
Visit Michael Archie’s website herehttps://perfectman.wordpress.com/

First, why is your comic called Workforce? Even though the comic isn’t about superheros, I always wanted a superhero team name. Since the book is about people working low wage jobs they hate, I felt WorkForce was perfect. It’s like the team everybody’s on but then at the same time it’s the team nobody wants to be on. My second choice was Sh*tty Job Squad.

What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned about the comic book industry? That being on the independent level of the industry…Nothing is more valuable than word of mouth. The good thing about that is it forces you to do the best you can because you want people to talk about it and spread the word.work3.7

So Workforce is your super friends. But if they’re super friends what’s their super powers?
I would say coming to work everyday and staying sane is the superpower. I don’t think Bruce Wayne could work somewhere like “CJ Nickels” without flipping out.

What are or were your greatest challenges to creating Workforce? Not giving up? The first two times I started writing and drawing WorkForce, it wasn’t really that good. It was waaaay less humorous….I would say borderline depressing lol. I think the reason was because I was actually working at Sears in the shoe dept at the time making minimum wage. So I let the pain show up in the material. The format was different too, It was one continuous story versus the strip format. The third time around I quit the job at Sears so it was easier to look back and laugh at my experience working at Sears and i also went to a comic strip format which helped my ideas flow better.

Click Here to Read the Entire Interview

About Mr. Perfect

Graphic Designer/illustrator, Philosopher, and on a quest to defeat the enemy/The Ego/ (the inner-me).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE INTERVIEW PART 1 (D@MN A SETH ROGAN)

  1. katherinejlegry says:

    I was an administrative assistant from time to time… and as a fan of Workforce, I feel duty bound to bring to your attention(s) that in the first paragraph which matters to grab a reader theoretically there is a TYPO: “… how do you know when an unsigned artists is hot…” should read artist (drop the s)

    In the second paragraph Michael is spelled correctly the first time the name is written and the next time it is spelled Michale.

    In the closing paragraph (in the reply) it reads “…Aquarius which mart a shift is human…”
    and it should read: “…Aquarius which marks a shift in human…”

    So… aside from me being in “secretary head” very nice interview! I’m looking forward to the arrival of my WORFORCE issue number 2!
    Woot!

    • Mr. Perfect says:

      preciate it!! I told’em. Secretary head lol…I’m glad you spotted it, me finding grammar errors is as hard as finding Waldo in those books. I want you to get your books!!! Let me know as soon as you do. And I got part 2 up….with a special Portland shout out;)

  2. Mr. Perfect says:

    *Part 2 of the Interview*

Leave a Reply

