THE INTERVIEW PART 2 (D@MN A SETH ROGAN)

work3.8Before continuing the interview I want to just say that I find Work Force to be different from Dilbert, Boondocks, or your favorite Newspaper comic. Even though it stands with them toe to toe I find it to be better cut from reality than any other comic that I’ve seen. When I noticed that I stopped reading it like I read Dilbert. Waiting only for punchlines. Instead I read just to listen to Hannibal share his living room philosophy, break down what Anderson Cooper is NOT saying, watch Martina and Ava speak on spanking other folk’s bad kids in the mall, and wonder what crazy tasks CJ Nickels will give Malik, Cruz, and Cam next.

Before continuing the interview I want to just say that I find Work Force to be different from Dilbert, Boondocks, or your favorite Newspaper comic. Even though it stands with them toe to toe I find it to be better cut from reality than any other comic that I’ve seen. When I noticed that I stopped reading it like I read Dilbert. Waiting only for punchlines. Instead I read just to listen to Hannibal share his living room philosophy, break down what Anderson Cooper is NOT saying, watch Martina and Ava speak on spanking other folk’s bad kids in the mall, and wonder what crazy tasks CJ Nickels will give Malik, Cruz, and Cam next.

I really care about these characters lives. And a wild card such as Asia Divine (the beautiful notty dread Robin Hood for the Hood but the media calls her a terrorist.) is thrown in. There is nothing I’ve seen like Workforce. Every page feels like cutting up in the quad back in college. Or being on the porch with fam just talking. Figuring this thing out. Black or White. There’s nothing I know like it. Here’s the Interview:

Chris Rock’s Top Five just came out. What were your thoughts on the movie? Haven’t seen it yet but I am planning on checking it out. Chris Rock is a big influence on the way I write WorkForce. His comedy makes you laugh while questioning things you other wise wouldn’t. If Top 5 is half as good as CB4 then I’ll like it.

Who are your top 5 rappers (excluding Pac, Big, Jay, and Nas)
E40: It’s like having your street wise game infested uncle on wax. 40 not only teaches you everyday survival skills but his style always evolves and stays fresh like fish in the freezer. And that’s over 25 years in hip hop!!!

work3.5I’ll give him a second listen. So who else?Andre 3000: Being from Atlanta, Outkast gave me hometown pride and made me want to hold my head high. Super creative and lyrical. If I had a top ten list, I’d add Big Boi but in a top 5 Andre 3000 gets a slight advantage.

MF DOOM: He’s like Kool Keith, Ghostface, and Slick Rick all rolled into one with a comic book persona. From the artistic perspective, he’s my favorite on the list.

creative, road less taken folks LOVE mf doom. i have a few of his albums. i love the stuff that i understand

Ice Cube: From a Fight the system perspective, Ice Cube is my favorite on the list. Mr. F*** the Police embodied the I don’t give a f*** I’m speaking my mind attitude. Nobody since Cube has had lyrics that were like bullets to the armor of the system. When he got with Chuck D and the bombsquad it was a wrap for anybody he chose to go after….From Jesse Jackson to George H.W. Bush.
CLICK HERE TO READ THE ENTIRE INTERVIEW

About Mr. Perfect

Graphic Designer/illustrator, Philosopher, and on a quest to defeat the enemy/The Ego/ (the inner-me).
This entry was posted in workforce and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THE INTERVIEW PART 2 (D@MN A SETH ROGAN)

  1. katherinejlegry says:

    secretary head say: you have printed the first paragraph twice.

    Interesting your influence is Chris. You’re so much funnier than him. I think you’re more like Dave Chappelle. More subversive and real…

    UPS is still holding my workforce2 issue hostage. Bastards.

  2. Mr. Perfect says:

    I love Dave Chappelle too, Louie CK, even Katt Williams…Chris Rock is good though, he has some stand up classics!!! and I’m going to find out what’s going on with UPS this week….the good thing is if they lost it. it’s insured up to 100 bucks so it’s no thing sending you some more.

    • katherinejlegry says:

      Thanks for the link… I checked it out… and well, I’ve never found Chris Rock funny… which I think is kind of funny as I watch him and try to see what everyone else does. That’s ok. I still have my Bernie Mac… and Workforce comics!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

